Southern Souffle’s Brown Butter Blondies

I have a bit of a confession to make:
I like to bake.
I like to bake a lot.
Cakes, cookies, pies, breads—all that. Give me the ingredients, the right equipment and let me loose in the kitchen and I will bake you whatever your heart desires and your sweet tooth craves.
That said, the quality of my life would drastically improve if I had a KitchenAid Stand Mixer. People who don’t know how I feel about baking think I’m joking when I say that, but I assure you that I’m not. I don’t even need a particular color—though I do think the Imperial Black is one of the sexiest kitchen appliances I’ve ever seen—I just need this mixer in my life. ‘Cause what I have now? Well, it leaves a lot to be desired. It gets the job done, though.
Anyway…

After suffering through Papoose’s god-awful debut album, I decided I needed to do something enjoyable to get the horrible lyrics out of my head. So I took a trip to my terribly understocked pantry to see what I had to work with. I saw brown sugar, baking soda and bread flour on one of my shelves and instantly remembered a recipe I’ve been wanting to try for a few months:
Southern Souffle’s Brown Butter Blondies.
In case you are tragically unaware, brown butter (Beurre noisette if you’re fancy) is everything. It’s got this amazingly nutty aroma and taste to it and it makes even the most mundane treats that much better. Don’t believe me? Try it in your sugar cookies. You’re welcome.
Here’s what you’ll need for the blondies:
2 cups of bread flour
2 ½ cups of packed brown sugar (I used half light, half dark)
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
1 stick & 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter
3 large eggs

I preheated my oven to 350 and put my dry ingredients in a bowl

and whisked them together then set them aside and got to work browning my butter over medium heat while stirring frequently to prevent burning. Once the butter was brown I removed it from the heat and placed it in a bowl where I let it cool for however long Justin Timberlake’s “Don’t Hold the Wall” is ten minutes or so. Once cool, I poured the butter into the same bowl my eggs were in and whisked them together until they were combined
Browned Butter x Eggs
I then poured the butter/egg combination over my dry ingredients and mixed until moistened

The batter was, by the way, very thick.
I spooned the batter out of the bowl into a parchment paper lined 9×13 pan where I tried to smooth it with a spatula…which didn’t work so well so I ended up using my hands.
In the Pan
These were suppose to bake for 30 minutes at 350 or until they could pass the toothpick test, but my oven pretty much hates me so my batch took around 45 minutes to bake. Eh.
I let these cool in the pan before cutting them into squares

and enjoyed with a glass of milk
(see: proceeded to devour half the batch before I told anyone they were done).

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Southern Souffle’s Brown Butter Blondies

  1. Looks yummy. Love the special touch you added with the glad of milk.

  2. […] this blog you’ve noticed that I haven’t updated since I posted the recipe for those awesome brown butter blondies back in March. Why haven’t I decided to post anything? Well. That’s a bit complicated as there […]

Leave a Reply

